The word Sacrament comes from the Latin word sacramentum, which means “a sign of the sacred.” The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred and significant for us as Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence. If you learn more about the sacraments, you can celebrate them more fully.

For more information on any of the sacraments at Our Lady of Miracles Parish, please read below or feel free to speak with our priests before or after mass. You may also call the Rectory at (718) 257-2400, or submit an email inquiry and a member of the parish staff will contact you. Thank you for your interest. Peace and blessings!

Our Lady of MiraclesBaptism
Parent interview: Call the rectory for appointment.
Parent Instruction: First Wednesday of the month at 8:00 p.m.
Celebration: 2:00 p.m. on the second Sunday (English) and fourth Sunday (French and Creole)

Please contact us at the rectory for more information on classes for children and adults.

Saturdays: 4:00-5:00 p.m.
Wednesdays and Fridays: After the 8:30 a.m. Mass or by appointment with one of the priests

Call the rectory for an appointment (for the first interview) at least six months before intended date of wedding.

Pastoral Care of the Sick
Ministers of Holy Communion and priests are available to bring Communion to the sick and homebound. Please contact the rectory for information. Also, please inform the rectory if a parishioner is hospitalized. We pray with all who are entering the hospital in the coming week during the 8:30 a.m. Mass on Saturday. If you wish to be anointed, please call the rectory by Friday afternoon.

Holy Orders
Please contact us at the rectory for more information.

What are the Seven Sacraments?


The Sacrament of Baptism is the first step in a lifelong journey of commitment and discipleship. Whether we are baptized as infants or adults, Baptism is the Church’s way of celebrating and enacting the embrace of God.


The Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.


The Sacrament of Reconciliation, also known as the Sacrament of Penance, is where we find God’s unconditional forgiveness, and as a result we are called to forgive others. We are encouraged to receive the Sacrament of Penance frequently throughout our lifetime so that we can benefit from the graces we obtain through reception of this sacrament.


The Sacrament of Confirmation is a mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. Like Baptism and Eucharist, it is a Sacrament of Initiation for Catholics and a Sacrament of faith in God’s fidelity to us.


The Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God’s values.

Holy Orders

In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, also known as Ordination, the priest being ordained vows to lead other Catholics by bringing them the sacraments (especially the Eucharist), by proclaiming the Gospel, and by providing other means to holiness.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness. Through this sacrament, the Church comforts and supports the person who is suffering and continues the healing ministry of Christ. For those who are about to die, the Church, in addition to the Anointing of the Sick, offers the Eucharist as viaticum – food for the journey home.